Dipolar Speaker Placement in Odd Room [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Dipolar Speaker Placement in Odd Room

Lemmy
03-31-2004, 10:54 AM
Hello

I am a beginner in the HT set up and have just moved into a new house. I have Paradigm ADP 170's for my surrounds and am looking for the best fit to put them.

I cannot easily place them on the sides of the listening area (I belive this is the IDEAL placement for them). Also, the side walls are not equal distance from the listening area.

So the next choice is on the wall behind the listening area. I was thinking of putting the dipolars about 3 feet above ear level equal distance apart. I watched a movie this past weekend with the dipoles at ear level and noticed you could "tell" where sounds were coming at from times.

Does anyone have experiece or recommendations with placing dipoles on the back wall?

First time here, so if i am repeating a past discussion, I am sorry. Just point me in the right direction. And Thanks for any help!

kexodusc
03-31-2004, 11:21 AM
I was thinking of putting the dipolars about 3 feet above ear level equal distance apart. I watched a movie this past weekend with the dipoles at ear level and noticed you could "tell" where sounds were coming at from times.

Well, I think you're headed in the right direction. My only concern is the equal distance spacing between the ADP-170's. You said your side walls aren't the same distance away from your listening area (your room isn't centered), depending on how far the walls are from the ADP's, this might cause some problem. I use to own dipolars as well, and had the same problems with them. I had to purposely off center one because the reflected sound created a very lob-sided surround field effect that really bugged me. I think if your walls are over 5 feet away from the speakers you should be okay, but you'll have to experiment for best results in your room.