NAD T765 vs Cambridge Audio 650r [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : NAD T765 vs Cambridge Audio 650r

wildaxe123
03-05-2010, 12:11 PM
Hi folks

Initially I was choosing between an Arcam AV 350 and a Cambridge Audio 650r. About 50% of my use will be for video and 50% for audio. After much research and some good advice from users here on another post, I'm leaning towards the Cambridge unit given it's video capabilities. I'm giving up a little in sound when using it for cd's but making up for it when using it in a video setting.

It was suggested to me yesterday to consider the NAD T765 if I'm leaning towards the Cambridge unit.

I'd appreciate comments from those familiar with these units on the strengths/weaknesses of each unit.

Many thanks!

dav1129
04-28-2010, 08:55 PM
Hi,
I am very new to AV.and surround sound in general. That means I means I have never owned an AV receiver much less surround sound.
In fact I still have and for stereo audio prefer the 30 plus stereo TECHNICS integrated amplifier and Bose 501 speakers which I bought as a young student in Germany, second hand from a dentist who more money than sense to buy the latest and greatest.
Anyway our 10 year old CRT TV started failing a second time and so as an alternative to repairing it again we bought a large Samsung LED TV.
That's where I should have stopped.
But instead we thought about going the whole way and experiencing surround sound at home which of course, my 30 year old stereo amplifier couldn't handle.
We purchased and then compared the sound produced by a Marrantz SR6004 receiver at home with the same stereo speakers. We didn't yet at that time have any surround speakers but had ordered and were waiting for a 5.1 Mod2 Orb speaker package.
We returned the Marrantz almost immediately because the (stereo) sound produced couldn't touch my 30 year old amplifier.