Bi-amping [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Bi-amping

lumiere
03-30-2004, 06:19 PM
HI, I'm new to this, so bear with me. I was wondering if it is possible to bi-amp using the preamp outputs in my integrated Musical Fidelity A3.2, using a matching power amp to drive the woofers of my speakers. Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance.

Studio B
03-30-2004, 09:04 PM
If I'm reading you right you want to use your pre-amp to power the high frequencies? In that case no can do. What you need to do is purchase an electronic crossover, or use the built in crossovers and a second amp. That is true bi-amping. Hope this helps.

Studio B
03-30-2004, 09:08 PM
If I'm reading you right you want to use your pre-amp to power the high frequencies? In that case no can do. What you need to do is purchase an electronic crossover, or use the built in crossovers and a second amp. That is true bi-amping. Hope this helps.

Scratch that. Getting late. I think it would be a perfect match as long as the power ratings match.

topspeed
03-30-2004, 10:28 PM
HI, I'm new to this, so bear with me. I was wondering if it is possible to bi-amp using the preamp outputs in my integrated Musical Fidelity A3.2, using a matching power amp to drive the woofers of my speakers. Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance.

I would think this would work only if the onboard amps aren't bypassed when using the pre-outs as in a receiver. It's an interesting question tho because I'd never considered it, but then again I've never found bi-amping to be good idea unless you're using completely different amps for the highs and lows, such as a tube for the highs and a ss for the lows.

03-30-2004, 11:20 PM
I think its the gain that has to match rather than the power rating.

or...maybe I'm on crack

gonefishin
03-31-2004, 05:19 PM
yeah, you need to match the gain for each amp or attenuate the signal "down" in front of one of the amps to level match.