what receiver to get? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : what receiver to get?

andycc
02-24-2010, 02:02 PM
Hi,

I'm new to home audio in general. I'm going to purchase the following JBL speakers:

http://www.amazon.com/JBL-CS480BG-Complete-6-Piece-Theater/product-reviews/B000O7N4IE/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

And I'm looking for a receiver that will work well with these speakers, but I don't know what to look for. Should I get a 5.1 or 7.1 receiver? What is a good brand?

These are the 2 receivers I was looking at:
5.1:
http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVR590-5-1-Channel-Receiver-Connectivity/dp/B002AKKFQM/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1267048870&sr=1-3

7.1:
http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVR790-7-1-Channel-Multi-Zone-Connectivity/dp/B002AKKFQW/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1267048870&sr=1-5

Any suggestions? Thanks!

02audionoob
02-24-2010, 02:13 PM
This place has good deals on Onkyo refurbs that seem to have more-current features for the buck than most.

http://www.accessories4less.com/index.php?page=search&search_query=tx-sr

JStudrawa
02-25-2010, 08:03 AM
Impressive prices when comparing the Denon. Thanks for that link.

pixelthis
02-25-2010, 10:39 AM
Hi,

I'm new to home audio in general. I'm going to purchase the following JBL speakers:

http://www.amazon.com/JBL-CS480BG-Complete-6-Piece-Theater/product-reviews/B000O7N4IE/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

And I'm looking for a receiver that will work well with these speakers, but I don't know what to look for. Should I get a 5.1 or 7.1 receiver? What is a good brand?

These are the 2 receivers I was looking at:
5.1:
http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVR590-5-1-Channel-Receiver-Connectivity/dp/B002AKKFQM/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1267048870&sr=1-3

7.1:
http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVR790-7-1-Channel-Multi-Zone-Connectivity/dp/B002AKKFQW/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1267048870&sr=1-5

Any suggestions? Thanks!