Holy crap batman I'm a noob... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Holy crap batman I'm a noob...

euchreb
02-22-2010, 11:01 PM
Hello everyone, I have been reading alot of the threads and I cant say how great it is to see people help others so freely and quickly, and honestly. So heres the situation I have a little money left from the tax return that my wife is letting me keep. While I feel the need to horde it I also want to have a decent system. At the current time I have crap except for my projector which is a Epson 1080 UB pro series. So guys with $1500.00 dollars and this equipment what should I do? Remember I know nothing about amps benefits of 2ch vs surround yada yada. PLEASE help me. I have a 7.1 channel yamaha RX-V1400 receiver, crappy infinity speakers, 4 primus 150s for rears and sides and 2 primus 360 towers for fronts and a primus c25 center channel. This backwards ass system also has a nice active 12" klipsch subwoofer. Now please tell me what to do? I dont know if I should keep the receiver and replace the speakers, replace the receiver, buy an amp, throw everything away buy a system in a box and live with being a noob forever, so on and so on... Remember I wont have much money to work with for the next say 18 years because we had our first baby so hook me up with something I can live with and still feel decent about in years to come. Oh ya Im a total dork and love playing PS3 video games online. If this is rambling Im sorry baby doesnt sleep. Thanks ahead of time for all the help audio gods.

02audionoob
02-23-2010, 07:46 AM