Top 5 must have Blu-Ray movies [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Top 5 must have Blu-Ray movies

Dharris
02-09-2010, 07:48 AM
I'm new to the world of Blu-Ray, so I need some guidance.

audio amateur
02-09-2010, 09:12 AM
Well whatever your favourite movies are, no? Unless you're asking for top quality video blu-rays... In that case I'll leave it to the others

Sir Terrence the Terrible
02-09-2010, 09:22 AM

What do you like to watch? There are good Blu rays in every genre including concert music videos.

Feanor
02-09-2010, 09:55 AM
You've meaning to purchase?

As yet I don't have a Blu-ray capable TV or player, but hopefully I will before long so I appreciate you question. But I don't buy many films anymore; it's cheaper to rent several times from Zip.ca if I want to see it again.

My major criteria for buying will be:

Will my wife enjoy it too?
Is it or will it be a favorite rewatcher? (There a plenty of great movies, but many of these I wouldn't care to watch over and over again)
Is it good Blu-ray production? Maybe this is more a problem for reissues than that current films. I think SirTtT will attest that not all Blu-rays are great, (though his standard is very high).I'll be looking for the following, a few of my favorite all-time rewatchers:

Fifth Element
Ghostbusters & Ghostbusters 2
Lord of the Rings
Godfather & Godfather II
True Lies
Chronicles of Riddick
Conan the Barbarian
Terminator
... and maybe Star Wars, Eps. IV - VI ... though I have too damned many versions of these as it is.

GMichael
02-09-2010, 10:24 AM
Fifth Element
Ghostbusters & Ghostbusters 2
Lord of the Rings
Godfather & Godfather II
True Lies
Chronicles of Riddick
Conan the Barbarian
Terminator
... and maybe Star Wars, Eps. IV - VI ... though I have too damned many versions of these as it is.

Nice choices. I would add Polar Express. We watch it at least once a year.

Maybe Independence Day.

nightflier
02-09-2010, 10:57 AM