Upgrade Fever [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade Fever

philhh
02-03-2010, 03:59 PM
I'm a relative newbie here on audioreview, and this will be a strange post, as I'm actually quite happy with my setup, but I've been feeling the desire to mess around with my gear, so here goes...

I currently own (and love) some Kef XQ1 speakers. I actually love the soundstage and sound of these speakers. With the Krell amp I don't fell myself missing bass, and vocals are amazing. Their size is perfect for the WAF.

So being the sick audiophile that I am, I'm wondering about upgrading these...
Browsing the boards has made me curious about the following speakers (from expensive to just plain ridiculous)

Usher Audio "Tiny Dancer" BE-718
Seems to be a forum darling...very excited to audition these...

Harbeth Speakers - HL-Compact 7ES-3
Wow- great reviews but pretty darn expensive!

B&W 805 Diamond - I've owned B&W speakers in the past, the DM-640's and DM-580's, but found the sound of the Meridian A-500 ultimately a bit warmer and more enjoyable... so I'm wondering about newer B&W speakers and their sound quality. Possibly too large as well...

I've also heard several Wilson WATT Puppies at a local store and have really been impressed by the sound of these (and scared %#@&less by the price) and wondered if anyone has heard their bookshelf speakers, the Duette? The price is staggering but I figure they must be available on the used market at significant discount...

Any opinions on any of these? Should I leave well enough alone if I have good stereo synergy at the moment?

Thanks all!

-Phil

koven
02-03-2010, 05:12 PM
Hi Phil, I don't know if you've been following my thread but I thought I'd chime in here.

I just did a "shoot-out" between 4-5 popular speakers and for me, in terms of value and sound, it's the Fritz Carbon 7 monitors that came out on top.