Rms ???? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Rms ????

mattyleggett
02-02-2010, 04:51 AM
Hello,
My amp is 35w + 35 watts RMS and 8ohms so what power speakers should I buy? Obviously I am a beginner to all this so please explain so that I can understand.
Regards Matt.

Mr Peabody
02-02-2010, 05:21 AM
Actually the power of your amp isn't that important to buying speakers. What brand amp is it? RMS is like the average or continuous power rating meaning at times it could peak to nearly double that. Most any speaker will be fine as long as you don't turn the amp up to the point it distorts the sound, commonly called "clipping". Clipping will blow your tweeters.

With only 35 watts what will be important is the efficiency or sensitivity rating given in SPL, I would personally recommend staying with a speaker 89dB or greater. Unless you have some kind of high current under rated amp.

Knowing the type of amp will help with speaker recommendations.

mattyleggett
02-02-2010, 05:49 AM
Hi,
Thanks for your help. The amp is an old Sony TA-AX4 amplifier.
Regards Matt.

02audionoob
02-02-2010, 05:59 AM
As stated already, just about any speakers you're interested in is going to be fine with regard to power. In your search you'll need to think about the answers to questions like these....

Do you want floorstanding or bookshelf? Do you want a subwoofer? What's your budget? How big is the room?

mattyleggett
02-02-2010, 06:10 AM
Thanks for your help 02audionoob. My next step was to look at the different types of speakers and room size etc but I’m always reading scare stories about amps blowing up speakers so to be honest I wanted to put my mind at rest, as I'm no expert as you have probably guessed

02audionoob
02-02-2010, 06:20 AM