Pc Speaker Upgrade [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Pc Speaker Upgrade

windsurfer
01-19-2010, 08:26 AM
Hey everyone. I have a few question regarding my Sound system. I don't know too much about speakers so i have come here for advice. I am a mechanical engineering student however so im competent in electronic/wave forms etc

I have decided it time to rectify my audio situation. My currenty set up consists of a Sound Blaster Audigy SE connected to a set of Logitech z-2300 speakers. I have loved this set up but after some abuse last year (House parties) one of the satellite is partially blown. Logitech sent me a replacement pair which i promptly sold. I was supposed to send back the control pod but kinda forgot :biggrin5: . I have therefore being using the set just without turning up the volume to much. Lately the blown satellite is getting worst which is annoying the hell out of me.

Im a student so buying a high quality amp + bookshelf + Sub etc is really out of the question. I use my pc for everything from games to movies to listening to music. I dont spend a minute in my room without listening music. Also the music i listen to is very varied. From classical to Dubstep!!

My first thought was to buy a cheap pair of bookshelf speakers to replace the logitech satellites. Something like this:
http://www.play.com/Electronics/Electronics/-/279/359/-/3317367/Sony-SS-B1000-2-Way-Bookshelf-Speakers/Product.html?searchtype=genre

They are 8ohms like my current ones and would be very easy to change. What i was wondering is how they would sound? Obviously the logitech amp is not the best? I do love the sub (well the power of it). I would have to have a sub in my new setup.

Another option which is was very close to doing (pretty much ordered them) was buying the z5500? I just stopped due to the realization of do i really need them? Although i am again thinking about them especially if i can find a relatively cheap price for them.