VPI Scoutmaster or Music Hall MMF 9.1? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : VPI Scoutmaster or Music Hall MMF 9.1?

Hairsonfire
01-14-2010, 12:12 PM
They both look impressive to me - of course I have no experience whatsoever with Turntables or Vinyl but some money fell into my lap and I have always wanted one. Also if you had the choice between phono stages Jolida JD9 or the Cambridge Azure 640p - which would it be?

I value your advice as I am clueless. My listening system is a Aragon 28K preamp, two Aragon 8008BB power amps, Rega Jupiter CD Player and MIT 750 and 350 Speaker Cables and Interconnects - Speakers are Platinum Audio Quatros.

I have a feeling that I would be happy with either turntable or either phono stage but would like to hear what the expericed folks think. Thanks!

poppachubby
01-14-2010, 12:27 PM
This is a wonderful question and will prompt much discussion I'm sure. I have no personal experience with either, I only know what I've read or heard.

I think one thing you should take into consideration, is whether or not a dealer is available for either brand locally. This is particularily important as a TT newbie. The great thing is, you will get great service as you will be in the high end club. At the very least, the dealers will hope for more sales potential and will smile from ear to ear when you walk in with your table. They may even throw rose petals at your feet, who knows?

Anyhow, if it was me I would take the VPI I think, although I am prone to Music Hall. The Scout represents everything that's awesome about VPI, rolled into one impressive machine.

The Jolida should outperform the Cambridge, but I think you should look a little bit bigger than these. Not sure if these could keep up to the ouput from either of these tables, they are basically budget stages.

I'll be interested to hear what the more knowledgable guys have to say. Wish I had your predicament...

JohnMichael
01-14-2010, 12:29 PM