Apple TV & Musical Fidelity VDAC = Happiness! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Apple TV & Musical Fidelity VDAC = Happiness!

philhh
01-12-2010, 11:19 AM
Hi everyone... newbie here to audioreview.com. I've been posting on and off on Audio Asylum, and finding them down, stumbled upon this nice looking community here. I thought I'd post this experience with an Apple TV setup in case there are others who might be interested.

Forgive the length of this post... it's a testament to my happiness with this new setup!

I recently purchased an Apple TV to serve as a digital music server for our stereo system. We had previously been using an iPod with a dock/remote with display but the RF noise from the remote was just awful and my 14 month old got the remote into some sort of diagnostic mode from which it has never recovered. This prompted the search for an mp3 server with wife-friendly qualities (small, easy to use, remote with display of songs). The Apple TV has fit the bill, since the Apple Remote application (free) allows us to view our entire music library from the comfort of our iPhones.

I set up the Apple TV system last week. I have a large library of music, the majority as 320 kbit/s mp3s. Trying to sync a fairly large library wirelessly was just a major PITA. After a solid day and a half I had made barely a dent and I just couldn't wait. I ended up using the NETGEAR XAVB101 Powerline AV Ethernet Adapter Kit and a hub to provide internet access as the wireless router just wasn't cutting it in terms of sync speeds, not to mention ROKU Netflix and Amazon video on demand. Results: works like a charm.

Next came the big day. Listening to it! My previous $99 iPod adapter, while never providing an audiophile quality listening experience, did provide a surprisingly acceptable soundstage which, even after a few decades being a stereo junkie, always thrills me.