Thoughts on Paradigm Monitor 5 v.4 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Paradigm Monitor 5 v.4

Cage
12-03-2009, 06:58 PM
New to the forum!

I have a chance to pick up a set of Paradigm Monitor 5 v.4 speakers. The guy selling them is asking $300, claiming that's half what he paid. I'm no speaker expert by any means but I have heard smaller Paradigms and think they sound great. My current set of speakers is a set of Bose 301's and I think they sound kind of muddy. My stereo isn't a fancy set up, just a Pioneer amp and receiver, 40 watts RMS. I bought these two back in 1976 and they still work great.

Any thoughts on the speakers or comments on the price?

Thanks in advance!

harley .guy07
12-03-2009, 08:50 PM
that sounds like a fair price for a good quality speaker. If they are in good condition they will give you good sound for the money and will definitely smash the sound of your bose speakers. Years ago I sold Paradigm in a high end shop that I managed and Their speakers were the best bang for the buck products out there and we sold more Paradigm than any other speaker we sold. And even though you are powering them with 40 watts per channel I believe they will work pretty well with that amount of power as long as you remember the limits of your amplifier when it comes to dynamics and volume. I have heard plenty of Paradigm Monitor series speakers powered with lower powered amps and they do well. I would suggest that if you like your music louder and more dynamic that you upgrade to higher power when you get the chance but really you should be fine for moderate normal listening levels.

dakatabg
12-03-2009, 09:24 PM
I can't tell you if you are getting a good deal or not because I couldn't find any prices online but definitely you will feel the difference in the speakers! Bose 301 are good speakers but Paradigm is something better! What is the exact model of the Pioneer receiver you have?

Cage
12-04-2009, 05:07 AM