Dual 1019 Tonearm Alignment (me = noob) [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Dual 1019 Tonearm Alignment (me = noob)

servo
11-27-2009, 08:23 PM
Hi, I'm brand new to turntables so please feel free to mock and ridicule my lack of knowledge and my rudimentary hold on even basic TT terminology.

Anyhoo, I just purchased a Dual 1019 in great condition other then the fact the automatic tonearm goes straight to the middle of the record instead of at the beginning. I have the lower left thing set on 33 and the lower right gadget set to 30. I've tried adjusting each doo-whacky but that doesn't seem to work. When I set the lower right guy to 17 it comes a little closer to the beginning of the record, but not nearly close enough.

Is this something I can fix? Please help me.

Scott

luvtolisten
11-27-2009, 08:42 PM
Hi Scott, now sure if I can help but I'll try, I used to own a BIC 960. The adjustment for mine, I had a small screw which you could see with a flashlight thru a small hole in the plate covering the turntable base, just behind where the tone arm is attached to the base. Turning the screw clockwise brought the arm closer to the edge, ccw more towards the middle.

JohnMichael
11-27-2009, 08:51 PM
Hi Scott, now sure if I can help but I'll try, I used to own a BIC 960. The adjustment for mine, I had a small screw which you could see with a flashlight thru a small hole in the plate covering the turntable base, just behind where the tone arm is attached to the base. Turning the screw clockwise brought the arm closer to the edge, ccw more towards the middle.

Yes I also remember that is an adjustible feature. Good answer luvtolisten.

servo
11-27-2009, 09:30 PM
Hey, thanks for the speedy responses. I tried adjusting screws that I believe are on the plate covering but I'm not sure. It didn't seem to help. I've taken some pictures of the machine and the screws I messed around with.

luvtolisten
11-28-2009, 06:54 AM