Best method of insulating rack mounted components from each other? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Best method of insulating rack mounted components from each other?

caz223
10-17-2009, 10:01 PM
I guess I should introduce myself, I'm a lurker and frequent the reviews section to try and get some background on individual pieces.
I have basic electronics knowledge, (was an electronic tech for 5 years, and still do basic side jobs for friends, as well as a lot of tinkering and obsessing.
I have a mid-fi system, and am trying to upgrade some pieces.
Anyway, I replaced my old overworked amp with an Adcom 555II.
I have the components installed in a computer rackmount enclosure (with an APC SU3000 rackmount UPS) (Dirty power, begone.)
I'm currently using an Adcom GCD-750 CD player, a rotel 1070 preamp (soon to be replaced with an Adcom GFP-750.)
I was thumbing through the online PDF for the 555II, and it says to insulate the chassis from other components it's connected to to prevent ground loops, and the resulting hum.

So background aside, has anyone else fought with this?
Any really easy, basic solutions?
I have the SU3000 in the bottom rack space (As is proper SOP), the amps will populate upwards, then the preamps, and finally the CD player, then my music server, and monitor (On a 0U articulated arm).
Am I breaking any cardinal sins here?
My first thought on insulating the amp was hockey pucks, but it's more involved than that, as the rails along the length of the rack ( Compaq 42U Rack by rittal with APC rack rails.)
Yes, I AM OCD.
Also, I'm gonna have to insulate the other components as well.
I remember the older components had a ground connector so that touching component chassis would not be a problem, but apparently, I am mistaken.
My older amp was a rackmount amp, and was designed for this, but it seems the Adcom amps are not.
My old amp=no hum.
Adcom=small hum, but way better sound.
A thin rubber rubber mat, perhaps?