Laptop Music [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Laptop Music

harley .guy07
10-13-2009, 12:54 PM
I just got a new laptop a couple of weeks ago and I was wondering what Dac's do you guy's think are the best for a music server based off of my laptop. What programs do you use to burn your music into your pc. I know windows media came with my machine and burns at what seems like a max 192 kbps and I have heard people talking about higher bit rates. does windows media have higher capabilities or do I have to get another music ripping software for a better result. I just thought it would be another source that could be of good quality if done right. Any suggestions would be great since I am pretty new to the pc music server thing.

harley .guy07
10-13-2009, 03:05 PM
Ok after playing with media player a little bit I figured out how to switch it to form the 192 to the higher and lossless formats. But any other help would be appreciated

Feanor
10-13-2009, 03:15 PM
Ok after playing with media player a little bit I figured out how to switch it to form the 192 to the higher and lossless formats. But any other help would be appreciated
IMO, the best ripping software is dBpoweramp (http://www.dbpoweramp.com/). Also, it's definitely the best format conversion software. There is a free version, but the $36 'Reference' versions is worth the difference.

poppachubby
10-13-2009, 03:38 PM
A great DAC to get started with would be a Firestone Audio Fubar II or a Firestone Audio Spitfire. I own the Spitfire which has coax and optical inputs. However, in your case you want a USB so the Fubar would be perfect. I have owned the first edition of the Fubar and it's a great, fun little machine. USB input, RCA ouput.

Here's a great review on both from 6moons:

http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/audiocandy2/candy_3.html

They sell on Ebay but have a look here as well:

http://www.audiophileproducts.com/