Think your kung fu is better than mine? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Think your kung fu is better than mine?

poppachubby
08-30-2009, 04:39 PM
Hey all, I am still relatively new at AR. I wanted to unplug from the "tekky" aspect and unwind here in movie land. I am a fan of the kung fu genre, also asian action in general. I love old school right up to new school. When I say old, I mean Seven Samurai/Sword of Doom old. Any one else here fancy themselves a "master"?? Would love to review and chat with ya.....Chubbs

Smokey
08-30-2009, 08:46 PM
Ok. For starter, have you ever seen the movie Heroic Trio?

http://www.lovehkfilm.com/reviews/ab3219/heroic_trio.jpg

poppachubby
08-31-2009, 03:51 AM
Yep, some time ago, i don't own it though. It was ok, I will watch anything with Michelle Yeoh but that whole fantasy action isn't always my cup of tea. One that I did like was Dragon Tiger Gate, the story was nothing amazing but the action scenes were super fun and fast...I just rewatched Versus by Ryuhei Kitamura. Now THAT'S a movie...great story, great action and superb dialogue. Versus is great and also his newer flick Death Trance was pretty good. To me he's one of the best out there right now, his movies are killer...should we do the mandatory top 5 list Smoke?

poppachubby
08-31-2009, 05:42 AM
OK Smoke-dawg, I'll start it...

5) The Seven Samurai
4)Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon
3) Tai Chi Master
2) 36 Chambers of Shaolin