Can you recomend a device for me? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Can you recomend a device for me?

pconyers
08-30-2009, 11:57 AM
I work as a cable installer and am looking for a unit that will play .mp3’s (preferably some sort of flash media) and AM/FM radio to enjoy while I am out in the field. It needs to have a 3.5 mm jack, an easy to see and use display, somewhat small in size and durable and able to take a bump and be used out in the elements as I work in some pretty hectic conditions at times. Any recommendations for me?

poppachubby
08-30-2009, 02:11 PM
Hey man. There are lots of alternatives for what you're asking. I have an MPIO ML-300 digital player w/FM radio. It has a great heads up display, which is the main reason I bought it. You can actually select the details it shows you. In terms of listenability it's fantastic. Aside from the preset equalizations you can program your own 5 band EQ setting. It powers a 32ohm set of cans quite well and is very efficient on it's single AAA. I think the fact it's on AAA is a benefit to you. Long day in the field you can't be recharging a Nano. It has lots of other features that I'm sure you'll dig also. And finally it's priced extremely well.

Now the only downside is disk size, mine is a 2Gig which for me is great but for a guy in the field, maybe you would need more. I can fit roughly 15-20 albums at 320kbps. Secondly, I've never put it through the ringer in terms of ruggedness. Sure, it can be dropped but for constant outdoor use I don't know if it would fit your needs. I would like to say that it probably would, for the price, worth a try.

Anyhow, I'm first to get at you but I'm sure lots of the guys will have suggestions. Just give it a few days and they'll all roll in and then you can make your decision. Please post what you end up with. The link has a more detailed review.

http://www.mobilewhack.com/mpio-ml-300-2gb-and-ml300---1gb-mp3-players/

Chubbily, Chubbs

pconyers