Hi guys, I'm new to post, could use some advice.......... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Hi guys, I'm new to post, could use some advice..........

Steph
08-27-2009, 10:53 PM
Have somehow acquired a few scatches on my turntable dust cover, any suggestions on how to get rid of them or at least make them look less obvious ?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks !

02audionoob
08-28-2009, 04:26 AM
Novus Plastic Polish should do if you need just the right product for the job. For fine scratches, a decent car wax should help.

rob_a
08-28-2009, 09:08 AM
Novus Plastic Polish is good stuff, they have a 3 step system, you can get the hole cover looking like new again. Any sign shop should have them.

Steph
08-28-2009, 11:08 AM
Many thanks guys :-) Have a great weekend !

Stephanie

Mr Peabody
08-28-2009, 09:35 PM
The cheaper way would be to just add more scratches. I don't know about less obvious that way but they'd blend in with the rest any way.

I didn't know that product existed, good answer.

poppachubby
08-29-2009, 01:55 AM
Hi Steph, I've used several polishes and plastic rejuvenators in an effort to revamp old covers. Eventually I gave up, most of the time, there was enough evidence left behind after the polish for me to still notice the blemish. The internet has all kinds of great affordable replacements, then you're back to square one so you can re-scratch it and get frustrated all over again...what make and model are you trying to clean up?

Steph
08-29-2009, 10:06 AM
Hi, it's a Thorens td240 that I've had for about a year, that I'm getting ready to sell and just want to pretty it up a tiny bit. It's just regular wear scratches from cleaning it and such......

Thanks for the interest and help :-)

Stephanie

Mr Peabody
08-29-2009, 07:05 PM
Well, Stephanie I hope you decide to stick around and post with us some more. Did you replace the Thorens or give up on vinyl? If you are still into vinyl what is your current rig?

Steph