Samsung LED TV - Holy Mother of God! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Samsung LED TV - Holy Mother of God!

Hairsonfire
07-21-2009, 09:19 AM
I just picked up the Samsung UB556000 Series LED TV last Friday - I can not get over the picture quality in Blu Ray and HD Cable. I am just gobsmacked (dumfounded). I had been using an LG 62SX4d for the last four years (bulb still going strong) and was reluctant to go to a smaller size but when I saw one displaying the opening scene from "Dark Knight" in a local Best Buy I could not believe the depth and detail. Apparently it is not really an LED TV but actually an LCD that employs LCD's as the backlighting. It is not perfect as off axis viewing in less than optimal and you can detect the LEDs around the borders in very dark scenes but wow, wow, wow, wow. I guess I sound like I am marketing this product. It also has some of the most comprehensive adjustments that usuall are only accessible through the secret squirell Service Menu Codes that the tecchies use when professionally calibrating. I guess my question is after all this shameless gushing is - Are there many comparable tv's that look this good? Any comments welcome.

pixelthis
07-21-2009, 11:35 AM
There are adaptive backlights made of LED that go across the entire screen,
and cut off light from black areas, these are better than edge lit sets.
But the edge lit sets are very good.
I have seen these sets and they are a major advance, creating black levels
we havent seen in awhile, color is supposed to be better also, since they always had trouble getting all of the green out of flourescents.
I am TV poor, having bought two in the last three years or so, but if I COULD GET 500$
FOR MY vizio.....:1:

Hairsonfire
07-21-2009, 02:56 PM