Any loyal Fans of Laserdisc? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Any loyal Fans of Laserdisc?

Charlie04SiR
05-19-2009, 06:59 AM
I have been collecting them for just about 12 years now. Little by little and they sure add up. last time I counted I had right at 1800 of them, since then I have acquired another 200ish, so I gotta be pushing 2000 of them :D I have always loved the format. My neices love to watch animated laserdiscs :) I get compliments from friends who come over an some people go, whoa, what are those? I have heard from some other audio enthusiasts that Laserdisc players have an excellent laser assembly in them and they play audio CD's beautifully. What got me started with Laserdsics was my older brother when he was serving in the Air Force in Korea during the Gulf war in 1990-92. He had a CLD-2080 Multi-volt model and I bought it from him in 1998. I was just curious if there are still enthusiasts out there who hold Laserdiscs in high regard, especialy since there were many movies printed on the format which are not available on DVD.

bfalls
05-19-2009, 08:28 AM
I can't say I 'm really an enthusiast, but I still have a player and about 60 discs. I bought a Pioneer combi-player (CD/DVD/LD) during LD's heyday. I have approximately 60 discs including the Star Wars collectors edition. It's of the original first (Chapters 4, 5, 6) movies. The discs are CAV, so have capacity for special effects.

"The Hunt for Red October" is one of my all-time favorite movies. I originally had it on LD. I later purchased the original DVD release, which was grainy and didn't sound good. I then purchased the special edition which was better, but I remember the LD still sounding better. I finally purchased the Blu-ray and found a DVD worthy to compare with the LD.