non-audiophile needs some help, please [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : non-audiophile needs some help, please

BIGPERM
05-12-2009, 06:16 PM
OK I admit it...I am not well-versed in the audiophile speak. This is a hobby I am just getting into. I was born in 1975 and have always loved classic rock, 80's rock, 80's adult contemporary, etc etc and etc. I discovered the love and warmth and social aspect of vinyl albums on my dad's hand me down "hi-fi" system from the early 90's.

What i want is a hi-fi vintage set-up to play my vinyl albums on.

I currently am using;

Sansui G-5000 pure power reciever
Technics SL-D3 TT with Ortofon 2M Red stylus
Sansui s-2100U Speakers (from my dad's 90's setup)

Living in a house with large living area and we have parties frequently with volume usu at 50-60%.

I need to get the reciever re-conditioned, but aside from that I need advice on how to maximize listening pleasure from my amp/tt combo.

I need advice on a pair of $500 speakers that would go well with this combo as well as advice on whether or not I need a separate pre-amp for the speakers. And for that matter any advice whatsoever for a new guy into this amazing way of life.

Mr Peabody
05-12-2009, 08:13 PM
A preamp is the low signal section with volume, selector and other controls. The power amp is what drives your speakers.

What is wrong with the speakers you have now?

If your receiver has preamp outputs you could look into adding a power amp for more drive and volume. A good bang for the buck on the used market are Adcom amps. You could probably pick up a 555 or 5500 for $500.00 or less, both are 200 watts per channel, the 555 is an older model than the 5500.

I don't know if you will find what you want in speakers for $500.00. You might take a look at some JBL or Infinity. There are very good bookshelf that could be had for $500.00 but it don't sound like what you are looking for.