Newbie asking a not-so-smart question about cables.... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie asking a not-so-smart question about cables....

angelgz
04-26-2009, 06:03 PM
Hi Guys,

First of all, thanks to all of your inputs!! I've been using this site for 5 years now and finally built myself a complete system based on the reviews / comments posted here!

As you can see I don't have the greatest setup yet, so apparently, I don't have much money to squander. I have heard mixed debates about cables. I am currently using these not-so-great monster cable THX wires for both analog interconnect and speaker wires. Can any of your give me some suggestions as to if I should replace these to hear a difference? According to someone, when he replaced his cables on the Krell system, it made a huge difference just night and day. However, I find this hard to believe because a change of medium improves the transfer of electrons by so little that's almost neglectable over short distance. Even if you take resistance and interference into consideration, I find it hard to believe that going through 10 feet of copper wires from radioshack for $3 vs going through 10 feet of silver cable for $2,000 would result in a noticable difference. I say this mainly because my wires are so short. I mean if you have a room with 50 feet of wiring, sure, better medium will definitely help

Lastly, I heard psychological reason is also part of the equation. If I spent $2,000 on a cable, it would be more like a "make-believe" that I am hearing better music because my brain is telling me, "you spent $2000 so it must sound super good."

I hope you guys can give me some insights, if I should get rid of my monster cables. I am a very practical guy so my brain, unfortunately, doesn't tell me "I am hearing better music" even though I am not. : )

Thank you all.

angelgz
04-26-2009, 06:06 PM
Sorry, forgot to list my system details:

Equipment List:
Rotel RSP 1570 Preamp