Best speaker deal from these 7? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Best speaker deal from these 7?

guitarguy
04-22-2009, 09:29 PM
Obviously I'm a newbie, and I'm looking at picking up speakers used to go with a lower mid-level a/v receiver (either a Yamaha V663 or Denon 1909). As my moniker would suggest, I'm mostly into guitar music, from classical (10%) to acoustic blues (20%) to electric blues (20%) to classic rock standards (25%) to heavier rock (25%). I'm no audiophile, and will probably use my ipod (Apple lossless files at least LOL) through an integrated dock (which is why I am thinking Yamaha and Denon as I have heard good things about their docks) about 50% of the time or more just because of convenience.

HT is really an afterthought for me right now anyway. Of course having mains that would work terribly in a HT setup would be an influence on my decision. Volume is not a afterthought--I'm an electric guitar player and like to push a bit of air. Nothing overwhelming, but whisper quiet reproduction is not incredibly important.

Anyway, these deals have presented themselves to me and I'm wondering which would be the best "deal" and best "match" for what I'm needing:

Mirage OM 9 pair - $500
Mirage Omni 260 pair / Omni CC / OM-200 sub setup - $450
Dahlquist DQ-12 (rebuilt woofers) - $550
Snell JII pair - $450
Dali Ikon 6 pair - $500
Paradigm 7 v.3 pair - $300
Klipsch Forte II pair - $500

I appreciate the input guys. Unfortunately, buying used I cannot hear these for myself so I appreciate the expertise!

Mr Peabody
04-23-2009, 05:12 AM
I have not heard all of those brands but of the ones I have my first choice would be Paradigm which sounds good and efficient enough to get pretty loud with not much effort.