Measuring cable shield efficacy [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Measuring cable shield efficacy

E-Stat
04-13-2009, 09:54 AM
While recently looking at the data sheet for LMR 400 Coax (http://www.dxstore.com/download/lmr400UF.pdf), I think I may have found an answer to a question I've been asking for many years concerning how well a shield works in a cable. The data sheet says the shielding effectiveness is > 90 db. Does anyone know if that represents a standard measurement suite? Or is that just unique to that cable vendor? You just don't find many cables that attempt to quantify how well their shielding works.

rw

Kevio
04-13-2009, 11:33 AM
There is BS going on here.

First thing that jumps out at me is the claim that 90 dB + 90 dB = 180 dB (The correct result is somewhere between 93 and 96 dB).

Second thing is that you can't give a useful spec for shield effectiveness without qualifying with length and frequency. Shields are useful at RF frequencies and beyond. They do nothing at audio frequencies. Regardless or how the shield is built, a long cable picks up proportionally more noise than a short cable of same construction.

To try and dodge your question of many years: Unless you live next to a radio transmitter, shielding effectiveness is a fairly small piece of the equation for low-noise interconnect. You see how logarithmic (decibel) math works - one weak link takes the whole thing down. Other typically more significant contributers are unbalanced connections, inadequate RF filtering and improper termination or grounding.

E-Stat
04-13-2009, 01:02 PM
First thing that jumps out at me is the claim that 90 dB + 90 dB = 180 dB (The correct result is somewhere between 93 and 96 dB).
Yep. I was looking at the spec area where it just says > 90 db.

Second thing is that you can't give a useful spec for shield effectiveness without qualifying with length and frequency.
Which is exactly why I phrased the question the way I did.