Placement of speakers. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Placement of speakers.

manlystanley
04-07-2009, 09:58 AM
I was wondering how everyone places there speakers? I'm new at this, but I own B&W 684's and have placed them in various ways, such as:

--> 12 inches from the wall (not toed in): too much bass.

--> 14 inches from the wall, (toed in 1/2 inch): Sounded about right, but imaging was a bit lacking.

--> 14 inches from the wall, (not toed in): better imaging, but sounds a bit dull.

So as a question how do you all place your speakers? The B&W's are in a room that is: 18 x 20 feet with a 7.5 foot ceiling.

Thanks,
Stan

GMichael
04-07-2009, 10:16 AM
Hello, welcome to AR. My speakers are about 12 inches away from the right wall and 16 inches from the left. Toed in so that they cross just in front of where I sit.
From what I understand, you shouldn't have them the same distance away from the left & right wall due to some sound canceling properties.

Notice how I didn't say that they should always be 12 feet apart? (inside joke)

Auricauricle
04-07-2009, 01:20 PM
Take the room and divide it into a grid of 100 possible locations.

In each location, assess the placement of the speakers 1-10 (1 just awful, 10 being too much of a good thing). x

Average the scores from each x/n (n=100)

Place your speakers upon the spot the average falls on.

Oh, and do this in an empty room. Once figured out, leave the room unfurnished and without anything but you and the speakers.

If you put anything else in the room, you must start over and make sure that object (probably a beer can) remains in the room when you "set up".

02audionoob
04-07-2009, 07:15 PM
Mine also cross just in front of where I sit. They're 6 feet apart, 18 inches in front of a wall 12 feet long, toed in something like 18 to 20 degrees.

RoadRunner6
04-07-2009, 10:04 PM