Bela Fleck's "Africa Project" [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Bela Fleck's "Africa Project"

Worf101
03-30-2009, 05:17 AM
Despite his numerous trips to my neck of the woods I'd never seen Bela Fleck. Banjo music, for some inexplicable reason, always brought up less than pleasent memories even though I have an ex-girlfiiend who played one. Still the ole lady bought tix for Bela Fleck and the "Africa Project". Seems Bela wanted to discover the roots of the Banjo, and journeyed rightly so to Africa to find them. While there he heard and fell in love with a wide variety of stringed and other instruments he'd never heard before. The result was a filmed documentary, an album and now a concert tour...

Last Saturday night the tour rolled into town to play at RPI's Empac Center. The concert was nothing short of mindblowing. As a somewhat jadeded musician I have to say the musicianship displayed by Mr. Fleck and the other's was nothing short of stellar. He did was Paul Simon never did, he didn't allow his ego to overshadow these legendary performers. Fleck did one acoustic solo tune to start the show then allowed each performer to play by themselves for a tune or two before joining them with his Banjo. Perfect!

Musical highlights were the 14 string African Harp that produced sounds and melodies that sent chills down my spine. Also there was no percussion or drums on the tour. The only non melodic instrument was a handheld device that consited of a tin can filled with glass shards. But the fellow working this rudimentary instrument was/is a versatile and true a musician as Fleck or the others. He worked that trashpile instrument like ke owned it which he did.

I don't know where they're onto next but if they roll into your neck of the woods I suggest you check it out.

Da Worfster

Auricauricle
03-30-2009, 05:48 AM