Need Floorstanding Purchasing Help [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need Floorstanding Purchasing Help

hailfox
03-16-2009, 03:06 PM
Hello AudioReview Forums,

I'm new to posting in the forums but I've been scavenging the forums looking for opinions for a couple weeks now. I am in the market for two floor standing speakers and a reciever but I need some advice since I am new to this sort of thing. The first thing I will say is that I am a college student and intend to use the speakers for both movies and music, but more music (70% I'd say). I hope to keep them for many years to come.

As for the floorstanding speakers I have narrowed it down to a couple brands that I feel fit my budget. I am looking for high quality speakers that have a warm sound throughout but also a smooth, accurate bass. So far I have:

1. Jamo S606 ($400 for a pair)
2. Infinity P362 ($400 for a pair)
3. Wharfedale 9.6 ($415 for a pair)
4. Infinity RS-5 (As part of a 5.1 system, $450)
5. There were more, I can't remember off the top of my head.

At any rate, $450 is the absolute most I would want to spend, and that is only because so many other things come with it.

The next thing I need is a decent receiver. I really don't want to spend much more than $200, but I also want some HDMI capability (I know, I want my cake and I want to eat it too). Optimally I would want to future proof the receiver a little bit (I forget what that is called, the step above HDMI pass through). I've been looking at Yamaha, Onkyo and Integra branded receivers.

So that is where I'm at right now, and now I'm stuck at narrowing things down any further. Could I get any assistance at this point!?

Mr Peabody
03-16-2009, 06:43 PM
If you want a receiver with fully functioning HDMI and "future proof" for a while any way, the least you will get off with is an Onkyo sr-tx606.