CD for Analog 2-channel use [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : CD for Analog 2-channel use

Meddle
03-13-2009, 07:40 AM
Hey folks, you guys have been good to me in the past, so I thought I'd solicit advice from the willing once more.

I'm a bit of an audio geek, but much more from the music side. I collect used and vintage audio out of need (I have 7 rigs in my home) and sentiment (love of the older stuff).

In spite of all my "stuff", I am still no expert save having experience with tons of brands and different types of equipment. My DIY abilities end at replacing woofer surrounds or really basic repairs.

My favorite system is my old Rotel rig. It's a RC-972 feeding two RB 870-BX's. My input device is a RCD-855, which has been truly a great little player and still is.

Now that I have some other input needs in some of my other systems, I was contemplating trying to find an upgrade to the RCD-855 and moving that player to my Adcom system that I have in my barn (I listen a lot out there after the kids are asleep).

So, here's the rub. Am I going to find an upgrade to the 855 without spending more than say 200 bucks?

I have my eyes on a Rega, but they don't come down near 200. What I'd love is a slightly newer Rotel with slightly better measurables for a fair price.

My system is far from top of the line, but the sound is plenty good for me. I'll never swim with the Krells or what have you.

So, I'm looking for the best CD player to be used in analog for under 200 dollars.

Any ideas? Please forgive me for asking what is likely a common question and thanks in advance for all replies.

Peace

02audionoob
03-13-2009, 03:52 PM
Or how about a DAC?

Meddle
03-13-2009, 05:44 PM
Hmmm. I want one of those, but if I get one, I'd hook it up to my Creek, which is currently hooked to my Mac by one of those awful mini-plugs.

I suppose I could get two of them...

02audionoob
03-13-2009, 06:44 PM