Starting from scratch [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Starting from scratch

bjdalton1
03-11-2009, 04:40 PM
I have a Mr. Peabody helping me, I am new to all of this, find it entertaining, listening to Johnny Cash's Folsom Prison album at the moment, etc. Does anyway have an idea of a system, speakers, amp, etc, that would be nice in a room 12'x 16'. The speakers would be on the 16' wall. I don't really need to fill an auditorium with sound. Just good quality sound. I would like floor speakers or towers as I've read. I don't really have a budget. I am not poor but I'm not rich either. I've got a kid in college thats costing me an arm and leg who wants to major in Philosopy. I can only shake my head. I work very, very hard and want to come home and go to that room and listen to Johnny Cash, Frank Sinatra, Pink Floyd, etc. Can anyone help this 'ole man out?

Bobby D.

luvtolisten
03-12-2009, 10:11 AM
Hi Bobby D.,
And welcome! If you were to give us an idea, what you feel comfortable spending, then we can make suggestions that fit your budget.

Hyfi
03-12-2009, 11:19 AM
I have a Mr. Peabody helping me, I am new to all of this, find it entertaining, listening to Johnny Cash's Folsom Prison album at the moment, etc. Does anyway have an idea of a system, speakers, amp, etc, that would be nice in a room 12'x 16'. The speakers would be on the 16' wall. I don't really need to fill an auditorium with sound. Just good quality sound. I would like floor speakers or towers as I've read. I don't really have a budget. I am not poor but I'm not rich either. I've got a kid in college thats costing me an arm and leg who wants to major in Philosopy. I can only shake my head. I work very, very hard and want to come home and go to that room and listen to Johnny Cash, Frank Sinatra, Pink Floyd, etc. Can anyone help this 'ole man out?

Bobby D.