Question for those with Yamaha receiver [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Question for those with Yamaha receiver

elvisisded
03-17-2004, 11:24 PM
I just got my HTR-5650 wired up tonight and I'm not getting quite the sound from my 6 year old Technics CD player was getting before with my old Sony reciever. The sound from Directv is fine. I don't have a subwoofer and I only have four speakers hooked up at the moment. Do I need a subwoofer to go with my Athena F1's I'm using as the main speakers? Maybe it's just me, but the bass just doesn't seem there.

markw
03-18-2004, 01:23 AM
What I find puzzling is that it seems to sound fine on some sources but not others.

You may want to re-read the manual. This is not a dig but simply some friendly advice from someone who has been ther. It took me a few weeks to get moderately comfortable with mine, and I've been playing with stereos and the like for 40 years now. It's a new, digital world out there now. Today's receivers can do a LOT, but geting all they can offer out of 'em can take some homework. Heck, it's been over a year now and I'm still finding hidden settings to play with.

For instance, my Denon 2802 has speaker settings where they can be set to either "large", whereby bass is sent to the main/surround and center) speakers as well as the subwoofer. Then it has a "small" setting where all bass is filtered out of the main/surround and center speaker.

Likewise, it has a subwoofer setting of "On" or "Off" (or similar). And, to further confuse the issue, some settings can be set on an individual input basis.

The reason I offer this advice is that even without a sub, the F1's deliver astounding bass for their size/price.

yamdsp-a1
03-18-2004, 05:18 AM
HI,

As noted above, you could have a setting wrong in the system, which may be causing your basss issues.

In addition, I can offer the follwoing things you should check or consider: