Cambridge Audio DAC Magic hook-up [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Cambridge Audio DAC Magic hook-up

luvtolisten
03-05-2009, 06:30 AM
Hi Everyone,
Recently I bought a new computer (HP desk top) and a Cambridge Audio DAC Magic. My desk top has a digtial coax output, which I have been using. With the Cambridge DAC they also supplied a USB cable, type A to type B male. I haven't used the USB cable, because I'm a newbie at this, and don't know how to get it to work, other than hooking up the cable, and making sure the CA is switched to the USB port. I looked thru both mauals, even went to HP's website, but if was there I didn't see it. I'm new at downloading music too, I use primarily Itunes, software, if that makes a difference. I know to use the digital output, after switching to the analog output and back again, I have to play something thru Windtows (Vista) first), like creating a path, for the Itunes to work. So my questions are:

a) how do I get the USB port to work?

b) will the USB port bring better sound, or is just a conveince feature, (if you don't have a digital output).

c) Anyone have any suggestions for music websites? So far all I've used is Itunes and Amazon, I do prefer the "pay as you go" websites.

Thanks in advance for your comments, and I aplogize for any spelling errors. I'm lost without "spellcheck". If it's here, I haven't fought that yet :confused5: either.:crazy:

noddin0ff
03-05-2009, 09:23 AM
You probably have to inform your computer to output audio through the USB. I don't know the setting for this on windows.

There will likely be no big sound advantage. USB is fine for CD resolution audio, but will generally not support higher resolution (although this is rare enough not to be a concern)

no preference for sites. I still buy CDs.

good luck!

luvtolisten
03-05-2009, 12:46 PM
You probably have to inform your computer to output audio through the USB. I don't know the setting for this on windows.