did I screw up my needle? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : did I screw up my needle?

venkman
03-04-2009, 07:21 PM
Hi, I am fairly new to the LP world and I received a bunch of records for Christmas. I just bought a Pro-Ject Debut III witht the Ortrofon OM 5E and set it up yesterday. I was attempting to start to play a record and I thought the tone arm lift was up (it wasn't) and when I dropped the tone arm it just fell right onto the record. How shock absorbing is the needle? I think it is fine I am just a perfectionist and not sure what to look for.

Also, what do you recomend to clean LPs with. I have read and been told all sorts of stuff....from alcohol is good to bad, don't use solvents, always use solvents.

Also, how do you care for the needle?

JohnMichael
03-04-2009, 07:38 PM
The Ortofon OM 5E has a sturdy stylus assembly. By dropping it onto the record you would have damaged the record more than the cartridge or stylus/needle. This is assuming the cantilever is not bent. Everything should be fine. I use a manual Alsop Orbitrac record cleaning system that might be discontinued and I have hung on to a Discwasher record cleaning system and I use the brush mainly for surface dust. I use a stylus brush with stylus cleaner I purcahsed from www.turntablebasics.com. Two other sources for record and stylus/needle care is www.musicdirect.com and www.needledoctor.com.

02audionoob
03-04-2009, 07:49 PM
I think the knock on alcohol is probably that it leaves a residue. I suspect it won't work extremely well, but it might help the severe ones. I've heard some people use baby shampoo (and water, of course) on severely dirty records. Some mix dishwashing soap and alcohol in water. I tried Dawn and water on an old record in bad shape and whatever is on it didn't budge.