Fish Out of Water [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Fish Out of Water

MasterCylinder
02-23-2009, 06:30 AM
Listening to the classic Chris Squire on the way into town this morning............nice piece of work still to this day. When all the YES members did their solo thing, Squire put the others in their place.............Wakeman wasn't bad either.

Hyfi
02-23-2009, 06:49 AM
Listening to the classic Chris Squire on the way into town this morning............nice piece of work still to this day. When all the YES members did their solo thing, Squire put the others in their place.............Wakeman wasn't bad either.

Another timeless piece of music. I started playing bass (a Rick) due to Squire.

Troy
02-23-2009, 01:25 PM
It's all about "Hold Out Your Hand" and "Lucky 7" for me. That's about it for me though.

3-LockBox
02-23-2009, 04:17 PM
Love the song Lucky Seven. I like the rest of the album, but yer right MC, the others' work are spotty.

There are things to like about all of them, 'cept maybe Jon's. Man, that guy, as "obtuse" as his Yes lyrics are, he gets down right airy fairy on his solo stuff. I know a lot of people who like Olias Of Sunhillow, and I might have thought it was OK, but the thing was terribly mixed with way too many over-dubs...its 10 gallons of **** in a 5 gallon bucket. The rest of his solo stuff makes his worst Yes moments sound great in comparison.

Bruford's works were good, if not a tad redundant from album to album. The guy was a great jazz drummer though. Steve Howe and Rick Wakeman have some killer stuff spread out over their solo albums, but never a flat-out great album. I never heard any of the 'other members' solo stuff, unless you wanna count Billy Sherwood's stuff (I don't).