Looking for Receiver/Speaker Advice [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Receiver/Speaker Advice

Gagliada
01-05-2009, 09:29 PM
Hi everybody, this is my first post in this forum - I am in the market for a new receiver and speakers and was hoping that the knowledgeable people in this forum could give me some advice.

About me: I am a lowly law student living off loans for the moment. I know a little bit about home theater systems (sold TVs at everybody's favorite consumer electronic giant for a summer in high school.) I have about $1,000 to spend total, but would really like to keep it down even lower if possible.

What I have: I just got a 37'' vizio lcd tv and a sony dvd player capable of upconverting to 1080 for christmas. Ive upgraded to Time Warner HD cable service. I have no immediate plans to get a Blu-ray player, but would like to in the future. The Dvd player is hooked to the tv with an hdmi cable and the TW cable runs through component cables.

What I want: I would like to add a pair of either freestanding or bookshelf speakers and run them through a receiver so sound from all components could be played through them. I would like the option to connect both an I-pod and a Laptop through the receiver. Everything is in the living room of a small second floor apartment that is about 12'x16'. I am not concerned with surround sound at this point, but would like the ability to upgrade to 5.1 in the future. I don't plan on getting a separate sub so I would like the speakers to provide the lows. Sound does not need to be loud, but I would like low distortion.

What would you all recommend for somebody in my position? And thanks in advance for any help =)

02audionoob
01-05-2009, 10:04 PM
How about the Onkyo TX-SR606...

http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/ONKTXSR606/Onkyo/TX-SR606-90w-x-7ch-HDMI-Theater-Receiver-BLACK/1.html