What Universal Remotes are you using? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What Universal Remotes are you using?

Hyfi
12-26-2008, 04:48 AM
I am ready to try a Universal and retire the 10 individual remotes. What models are you using and what do you like-dislike about them?

Thanks for any input.

Slosh
12-26-2008, 06:29 AM
I've been using a Marantz RC 2000MkII for the last ten years and it's awesome. Never had a problem teaching it any commands. It's long since out of production but there is always ebay. Since it's so old there's no online data base of codes for it so you have to program everything manually but that's no big deal to me. It's a battery hog but I solved that with two sets of Ni-MH rechareable batteries; one set is always charged and ready to go.

Lots of the newer remotes can be programmed from your computer via USB. I would look for one with at least some 'soft' keys that can be renamed for specialized functions unique to a particular piece of gear. Personally I don't like the touch-screen remotes because you have to look at them to use. I like tactile buttons. Also make sure the icons are on the buttons themself. No point in having backlighting if you have to turn on your room lights the read the remote's face.

NP: Jim O'Rourke - Eureka

Duds
12-26-2008, 06:31 AM
My brother just got a Harmony 670 for xmas. I did some research over on avsforum.com and for around $120 it seems like a great universal remote. Some have said it eats through batteries quickly, but I think I read that's due to the buttons lighting up everythime you touch one, and I am pretty sure you can turn that feature off.

I am ready to try a Universal and retire the 10 individual remotes. What models are you using and what do you like-dislike about them?

Thanks for any input.

N. Abstentia
12-26-2008, 07:18 AM
Harmony 880. Don't get no better!

Rich-n-Texas
12-26-2008, 10:10 AM
Harmony 880. Don't get no better!
Harmony 880. Don't get no better! :cool: