Advice needed for Home Theatre/Music System (Living Room layout included) [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed for Home Theatre/Music System (Living Room layout included)

nanobeast
12-24-2008, 05:43 PM
I just moved into a new apartment and got a 50 inch Panasonic Plasma TV and a PS3 for Blueray DVD.. I am looking to pair them up with good sound system. I am a complete newbie to all this and I was hoping some of you might be able to guide me.

To begin with here is the layout of my living room.

http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/4531/livingroomha3.png

I am looking to build a system in steps. I would like to start off with a front speakers and receiver for now. Next month I would like to add a sub and center channel.

At some point in the future I will add the rear speakers for 5.1 system.

In the meantime, could I please get some suggestions for a good receiver and front speakers with these points in mind?....

1) I am looking to spend about $300-500 on receiver and about $500-1000 on front speakers. Could I get some suggestions for the lower price range as well as the higher price range? Later on I will spend about $300-500 each on Subwoofer and center speaker.

2) I intend to use the speakers for HT as well as music listening. I prefer well balanced sound with details inside of loud volumes. Same with bass...prefer nice tight bass instead of high boom boom sounds.

3) I have always liked the Magnepans and Martin Logans but from what I hear, the room and spacing is a problem with these speakers. Given the size of my room and viewing distance, would they work?

4) What kind of sub woofer and center speaker would balance out the system. (About $300-500 each).

Any suggestions/help/advice would be MUCH greatly appreciated.

blackraven
12-24-2008, 06:38 PM