Which Floorstanders for my Budget??? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Which Floorstanders for my Budget???

fountboy
03-12-2004, 11:29 PM
I am looking to buy a pair of floorstand speakers. I am going to use them for a mix of HT, tv, and music. The music I listen to is Trance, Hip Hop, Jazz, Pop, etc. My budget is $800 or less, used or new. Here are a few models I am looking at.

Kef Q7 used 700
KEF Q5 595
Rocket 550 699
Rocket 550 used 599
Rocket 750 used 725
Paradigm Monitor 7 and CC370 750 obo
Paradigm Monitor 7v3 550obo
Paradigm Monitor 9v3 575obo

I have listened to the KEfs and like them a lot. I havent found a place to audition Paradigms, and no one near me has Rockets per Audioenvy.com. Does anyone have any suggestions on these speakers or anything in my price range. Thanks for any help.

bacchanal
03-13-2004, 08:19 AM
I'm a newbie to the world of hi-fi/mid-fi, so take that into condiseration. However, I've been searching for a pair of mains to start my system off for the past couple weeks, and I've found that the one charactaristic that makes a big and immediately audible difference in the sound is the tweeter design. Both the Paradigm and the Kefs use metal dome tweeters, which some people find to be harsh or what bright (not sure if thats the right word). I've found that I gernerally prefer speakers with metal dome tweeters in your pricerange (which is equivilant to mine). The Rockets have a Vifa Ring Radiator tweeter, and I have no idea what that is. You may want to listen to speakers with dipole or horn tweeters as they have a totally different sound. I don't prefer it, but some people do.

I don't have Rockets or Kefs in my area to listen to, so I can't comment on those (though the Kefs do look beautiful). Some of the speakers I've really liked are:

Paradigm Studio 40 (big sounding bookshelves) - $1100 MSRP, I found them for $800
Paradgim Monitor 7v3 - $650 approx
Boston VR2 (3 way floor standers) - $850 MSRP