Miller And Kreisel Mx-70 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Miller And Kreisel Mx-70

shift
10-05-2008, 08:44 PM
So i came across a M&K MX-70 subwoofer for about $50 and i was wondering since i've never had experience what everyone thought of these who have? I heard that were pretty good, more so for music, but decent deep bass and good response....

Worth the $50 as a good buy?

I see a low pass filter switch and a bass level switch, self powered obviously...looks older but decent shape, i see one speak aimed down from the top of the box through a hole in the back and i guess theres another one somewhere cuz reading up on these i noticed people sayin theres two 8in woofers inside?

RoadRunner6
10-05-2008, 10:02 PM
I'm no expert on used equipment, but if that is in reasonable condition and the surrounds are not shot it sounds like a decent buy. I think it is about 10-15 years old or so. Is it a MX-70 or MX-70B?

M&K just went out of business. They were a very fine consumer/studio speaker company with a reputation for excellent performance and build quality. Their subs were top rate. This one you are looking at was the smallest in their MX line. It is a push-pull configuration with two 8 inch drivers. It would be designed for small to medium (satellite or bookshelf) speakers and rooms. Probably excellent for music and OK for a small home theater system, keeping in mind that for HT it probably doesn't go much below about 27-28Hz @ -3dB's and not super loud.

Whether it is good for your circumstances would depend on your other speakers, your receiver/pre and controls, inputs and switches it has on the rear (or photo).

RR6 :p

shift
10-06-2008, 12:24 AM
Its just the MX-70 not the B i believe, heres a picture of the back of it

MX-70 REAR PIC - 0.04MB (http://www.zshare.net/image/200561926319cd1f/)