RR advice on External Harddrive [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : RR advice on External Harddrive

audiobill
09-21-2008, 10:53 AM
Hey Ravewreckers,

I need your advice on buying an external harddrive. As many of you know, we are in the process of getting our lives back from the flood and the fun part of replacing items is now here.

I need to pick up a reliable very large external hd. We have replace our home pc with a laptop, but we now need storage.

Important features for us are:

1. quiet
2. easy backup/software
3. 1TB
4. fast

What would you suggest?

Thanks-a-ton,

Bill

ForeverAutumn
09-21-2008, 12:09 PM
Hey Bill. I just bought a SimpleTech drive and it's very good. I am not a techie so I need something simple. This was total plug and play. All I need to do is touch one button and it will back up my entire HD. It is very quiet and very fast at 7200 RMP.

In my case, I want to transfer specific files from my PC to my Mac so I haven't used the feature of backing up my full drive yet. When I plugged the EHD into my PC it showed up as a new drive (I had three drives, C, D and G). All I had to do was drag the files from C to G and it copied them. Then I plugged the EHD into my Mac and dragged the files to my Mac HD. I was amazed at how easy it was.

The one that I purchased is 500GB and I paid $99 on sale at Best Buy. It came in a TB version but I didn't need something that big.

Slosh
09-21-2008, 01:52 PM
I have Seagate and Western Digital. Never has a problem with any of 'em and the old ones are going on 7 years now. Just format in NTFS (unless you're on a Mac, I think).

I back up manually (mostly just my music and downloaded software installers).

Mr MidFi
09-22-2008, 05:30 AM
One word of caution: don't rely too much on it. Some day, it WILL fail. Another word of advice...ALWAYS make sure to 'safely remove' or eject the device before disconnecting it from the USB port.