Need advice on buying a tape recorder [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on buying a tape recorder

mahogohney
03-11-2004, 12:42 PM
Ello~
i've been looking around trying to buy a tape recorder that has a good enough sound quality but i'm not really sure what to look for in the way of features. The kind i'm looking for would be one that can record fuzz free, or with less fuzz then most. that you can record lectures with on a normal (not micro) tape. i'm actualy going to be using it for sending tape letters to friends... kind of the same concept though ^_^.

anywhoo, what feature should i look for in a tape recorder that will get me good sound quality? *lol* you can tell i'm new at this (recorder shopping), but if anyone has any ideas i'd love to hear them.

thanks

woodman
03-12-2004, 12:57 PM
Ello~
i've been looking around trying to buy a tape recorder that has a good enough sound quality but i'm not really sure what to look for in the way of features. The kind i'm looking for would be one that can record fuzz free, or with less fuzz then most. that you can record lectures with on a normal (not micro) tape. i'm actualy going to be using it for sending tape letters to friends... kind of the same concept though ^_^.

anywhoo, what feature should i look for in a tape recorder that will get me good sound quality? *lol* you can tell i'm new at this (recorder shopping), but if anyone has any ideas i'd love to hear them.

thanks

Sounds like you haven't been involved with tape recorders for many, many years. They've evolved considerably over the years to where today, just about ANY cassette deck you can buy is capable of excellent performance - especially for recording speech as opposed to recording Hi-Fi music.