jbl sub - "feedback" sound [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : jbl sub - "feedback" sound

cyberpac9
09-18-2008, 02:17 PM
i've had my surround setup for 3-4 years...everything was fine until recently...periodically my sub gets this buzzing, feedback type of sound...it will come for about 5 mins or so (haven't determined a definite length of time) and then goes away...

thoughts? speaker going bad? don't think it's under warranty, but should i be concerned?

Worf101
09-19-2008, 03:51 AM
As a musician I've always defined feedback as a situation where a tone of a specific hertz comes out of a speaker, is picked up by a microphone or other magnetic pickup and procedes to re-enforce itself. By feeding back on itself the tone becomes louder and louder.

Buzzing is another thing altogether. Really difficult to help you with your description. I don't see how a consumer subwoofer would "feedback" on itself unless you're playing bass guitar or piano through your home theatre system. What you maybe hearing are certain tones being re-enforced by room acousitics and appearing much highter in the mix as a result.

Hope this helps.

Da Worfster

cyberpac9
09-19-2008, 02:41 PM
no didn't help, sorry...

what i said was, it's a sound that if you hear it reminds you of feedback - feedback like you hear as a musician...i know that's not what it is, it just sounds that way...maybe some sort of interference? you know, like when you have a cell phone too close to your computer speakers and you get that weird interference sound....

i haven't moved anything in the room, nothing has changed - acoustics or anything...that's why i was wondering if the speaker was going bad...

RoadRunner6
09-19-2008, 05:50 PM
Does this also happen without a sound source (idling) or when a movie or music is paused? Just a wild guess that you might have a intermittent grounding hum/buzz problem due to a bad or loose sub cable.

RR6

cyberpac9
09-20-2008, 07:35 AM