A little help for AKG K701 amplifer [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : A little help for AKG K701 amplifer

08-28-2008, 03:54 PM
Hi! I'm a new comer here. Unfortunately I'm also a new comer to the audio field. So my problem is:

0. I'm just beginning to listen Classical music. (say, Mozart, Chopin, Bach..)
1. I'm a college student and my maximum expense for the whole set is 500$
2. I want to buy a good earphone which last for a long time and won't make me disappointed. The clues pointed out to AKG K701. It's excellent, not that expensive, and full range.
->
3. I found I need to buy something called amplifier to use the K701. But I really don't know how to choose. Because the limit of my budget, I can't make a mistake.
4. I also need to buy a CD player. There is a Panasonic studio player at my school, which can also drive CDs. But I really don't know what I should buy for I've never use CD players before. I used to listen CD directly in my PC.

Please give me a piece of your advice!

noddin0ff
08-29-2008, 04:35 AM
The AKG K701 look to be at the high end of headphones and of the more expensive. If you're new to audio, I'd say your overshooting your needs. They list at www.headphone.com (http://www.headphone.com/products/headphones/full-size/) at $449. You can pay half that and still get an audiophile quality headphone.

You'll hear anyone listening to a top of the line headphone like the K701 claiming you need an amp, because anyone who aims that high wants everything they can get out of them and an amp is par for the course for an audiophile.

But, one should listen first and then decide if you need a dedicated headphone amp. If you don't know what an amplifier is (as suggested in your post) you should learn more before making any purchases, headphone included.

If you still want to use a PC you can. No need to get a CD player.