Audiophile power cables: do they make a difference? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Audiophile power cables: do they make a difference?

emaidel
08-20-2008, 03:59 AM
After tinkering around with the Hi-Fi tuning fuses and discovering that they make a very substantial improvement in the sound of my speakers, I started looking around elsewhere for areas for yet more tinkering, and the subject of power cords came up. I have no experience whatsoever with power cords and was curious as to whether or not anyone at AR does, and what your conclusions might be.

I made a quick google search, and was astonished at how expensive "audiophile" cables are, and am skeptical that they're worth so many hundreds of dollars, especially since I'd have to replace at least three such cables in my system if I were to take this step.

So, do any of you have any experience with upgrading your equipment with "better" power cables, and was it worth the effort and expense?

E-Stat
08-20-2008, 09:22 AM
So, do any of you have any experience with upgrading your equipment with "better" power cables, and was it worth the effort and expense?
Oh yes. In fact, extended discussion of that topic is what originally brought me here. I was amazed at how much time and effort some exerted to opine that they had no effect whatsoever. Never mind the fact that none of those opponents ever used one. Details.

The usual arguments against the value of aftermarket cords run like this:

1. "There's nothing that can be done to that power cord that's going to have any effect whatsoever on what the power supply inside the component receives and does with the power once it gets inside the "box". Reference: here. (http://forums.audioreview.com/showpost.php?p=68359&postcount=10)