Total newbie [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie

copaaz
07-31-2008, 09:05 PM
We've just moved into a new house and are looking to invest in a home auto theater. I do not know all of the lingo so please be patient with me. I have 5 speaker connections in the ceiling. Three up front and two in the back of the room. Other than the 5 speakers that I need to purchase, what other devices will I need? I know I need a receiver. Is there anything else? Is there a "guide" for newbies that I can go off of? Thanks!

Vardo
07-31-2008, 09:27 PM
Niles makes very good in ceiling speakers.......link:

http://www.nilesaudio.com/product_detail.php?recordID=Ceiling%20Mount%20Loud speakers&categoryID=Speakers&catcdID=1

and this av receiver from Yamaha has getting pretty good reviews:

http://www.onecall.com/ProductDetails.aspx?id=87265

Other than that you will need a subwoofer. I recommend HSU
many because I've owned them and thus the bias........

http://hsuresearch.com/

If you would tell us the cu ft of your listening area, and budget,
that would help in getting more replies....vardo

elapsed
08-01-2008, 09:48 PM
Hi copaaz, welcome to AR! A few questions to get you started

1. What is your budget?
2. What are the dimensions of your room?
3. What are your sources (e.g. DVD, HD Player, DVR, gaming consoles, etc)
4. What model TV do you own?
5. Is this system primarily for home theater, music, gaming, sports?

Items to consider are: speakers, subwoofer, a/v receiver, subwoofer cable, surge protector, universal remote, a/v stand, hdmi cables (or other forms of cabling such as component video, digital coax, optical audio, if your sources do not have hdmi).

Cheers

filecat13
08-02-2008, 08:25 AM
We've just moved into a new house and are looking to invest in a home auto theater. I do not know all of the lingo so please be patient with me.

Just to help you be more accurate, you want to write "audio" not "auto." You can see the difference.