Suggestions Needed [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions Needed

hutasadorn
07-24-2008, 02:27 PM
Hi, I am planning to put up a little mini home theater system in my room (10'x12') and I would like some suggestions on what's good out there. I have to admit I'm a newbie when it comes to audio systems, hence the reason why I'm here :)

I plan to use it to watch DVDs and HD material on my 26'' 1080i.

Thanks!

Mr Peabody
07-24-2008, 06:18 PM
What is your budget? Take a look at the Onkyo 605 which is up to date with all the HD decoding and HDMI ins/outs. Speakers will also depend a lot on budget, taste and room decor. A beginning suggestion would be Paradigm.

This is a starting point. In a room that small if you are going to be there awhile you might want to consider some in-wall speakers but typically if they will fit, box speakers sound better and not such a permanent.deal. You can also do a 2.1 or 3.1 system if budget is tight, you don't have to sacrafice quality to get all five or speakers at once.

To look at features, specs and some prices you might visit www.crutchfield.com

hutasadorn
07-24-2008, 08:33 PM
Thanks for your response.
I would say my budget is somewhere in the $200-$400 range, but that's for the receiver/speakers combined. I'm looking for something decent, something that'll do. Ohkyo HT-S3100 and HT-S4100 looks like they fall in that range. How does those receivers compare to the 605s? The 605s are 7.1, do I need that for a room this small?

Mr Peabody
07-25-2008, 05:12 PM