Round vs Oval shape [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Round vs Oval shape

ColdPlays
07-15-2008, 05:22 AM
If you use a Round shaped speaker, you get a perfect sinus when you measure the outcome of a wave.

- What happens when you use an oval shaped speaker? Is the 'shockwave' still a perfect sinus? I need to know because I'm experimenting with sound behaviour. A right awnser would help me alot.

thx

ColdPlays

GMichael
07-15-2008, 05:40 AM
Welcome to AR,

I'm no expert, but it would seem to me that an oval would not have perfect symmetry and therefore add some level of distortion. Build quality may be a bigger factor than shape though. Some oval drivers (such as KEF uses) may be better than some other's round. And the oval shape will let you get more surface area into a thinner form.
Hope this helps for now. I'm sure that others will be along to add or correct.

Mike

Auricauricle
07-15-2008, 06:08 AM
Yeah, but now that we're digital, don't we need square speakers?

GMichael
07-15-2008, 06:21 AM
Yeah, but now that we're digital, don't we need square speakers?

I have a rectangular driver. Does that count?

ColdPlays
07-15-2008, 06:35 AM

Sure! Why not? :rolleyes: :)

Anyways. Couple of things: Is there any difference in frequency range between the two?
What I mean is: Are oval speakers capable of producing clear sound between 0 and 250 Hz?

Thx

ColdPlays

Auricauricle
07-15-2008, 06:50 AM
Are oval speakers capable of producing clear sound between 0 and 250 Hz?

I think that's something for you to know and for us to find out....

Unless yer talking about clear and distinct distortion and the ability to measure deviation of signal that can be graphically represented, clarity is a matter of the ears of the beholder.

Could be outta line, but that's the way I see it now....:ihih:

GMichael
07-15-2008, 06:58 AM

Anyways. Couple of things: Is there any difference in frequency range between the two?