Serious Advice Needed [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Serious Advice Needed

omikey
03-09-2004, 07:28 AM
I am considering a purchase of a floor model Pioneer PRO-800HD plasma tv at Tweeter's.

No telling how many hours this set has logged.

What do you think of buying a Floor Demo plasma tv ?

Should I be concerned about the number of hours that may already be spent on the gas in this display ?

Thanks
Mikey

wasch_24
03-09-2004, 07:50 AM
I'm no expert on plasma monitors but everything I have read about plasma's has said that they will last anywhere from 4-6 years with normal viewing. If it is last years model and has been on for say, 10 hours a day seven days a week for the past year, then that is about 2-3 years worth of normal viewing. If it is a reallity for you that you will probably be shopping for the next "latest and greatest" in 2-3 years anyway then go ahead and do it. I would suggest though that you use part of the savings you are getting to purchase the extended warranty. This will also be cheaper because Tweeter's warranty prices are based on dollar amount of the item.

omikey
03-09-2004, 08:10 AM
I'm no expert on plasma monitors but everything I have read about plasma's has said that they will last anywhere from 4-6 years with normal viewing. If it is last years model and has been on for say, 10 hours a day seven days a week for the past year, then that is about 2-3 years worth of normal viewing. If it is a reallity for you that you will probably be shopping for the next "latest and greatest" in 2-3 years anyway then go ahead and do it. I would suggest though that you use part of the savings you are getting to purchase the extended warranty. This will also be cheaper because Tweeter's warranty prices are based on dollar amount of the item.