running multiple speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : running multiple speakers

curiousburke
06-07-2008, 05:33 AM
Hi All,
I haven't posted in awhile, mostly been lurking and getting lots of good info from old posts, but I thought my current dilemma might be of interest or at least worth a comment to tell me I have no ear.

I have been A/B'ing two speaker options that are very different, the Energy RC-10s versus Orb Audio's Classic 2.1 (2 balls on each side + sub). I like both systems well enough. The RC-10's have really nice output within a good but restricted frequency range; the Orbs span a broader range, but sound a little empty compared with the RC-10's. I think this is lack of mid-bass but I'm a newbie.

The sound I really like is when I run them both at the same time. The RC-10's fill in the gap and smooth the transition between the sub and the highs, and this combo sounds very nice to me.

So, my questions: what am I hearing when running a bunch of speakers at once that sounds so nice and what would I need to get this sound without using multiple systems? Or, do people use several "full" range speakers at once? Would a dual 5" driver speak like the Ascends sound similar? I don't care too much about imaging since I rarely sit in one place specifically to listen to music.

thanks,
Mark

j dan vignau
07-01-2008, 11:57 AM