New Room sound system. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : New Room sound system.

Da_Duck
05-31-2008, 02:01 PM
Sorry, i just posted this in the "Home Theater" thread and am afraid it might not have been the correct forum, it so here it is again:

I'm pretty new to audio systems and am looking for a 5.1 speaker setup. I'd much rather research a bit and get my money's worth, rather than wasting it on some poorly built system. My plan is to hook it up to my computer. I'm outputting sound from a Creative Sound Blaster SB0570 Audigy SE. My budget is about $250. My questions are, is the sound card going to work for a 5.1 system and what kind of designs, brands should I be looking for? Thanks for all the help in advance!

natronforever
05-31-2008, 05:57 PM
Hey. Welcome to the forum. There's lots of people here who know (or sometimes think they know) lots about home audio, so I imagine you'll get some good advice.

For $250, the general consensus around here will be to save your money, then buy your audio components piece by piece, as money allows. Personally, I agree with this approach. I spent well over 1 1/2 years putting together my system. Basically, you could start with a decent receiver ($250 will get you close to a good starting point for a basic model). Look to spend about $300 or above. Then, you could get a good pair of bookshelf speakers. $200 dollars can buy a lot of speaker today if you know where to look. You'd be surprised how good a two channel audio system will sound if you buy good stuff. Then, you could get a sub, center channel, and surrounds (in that order) as you keep saving money. What I'm suggesting here may take months, possibly even years, but it's worth it. Don't waste your money on "home theater in a box" systems you could buy for $250. You won't like them long - if ever. Take your time and do it right.