3 channel stereo with NAD T750? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : 3 channel stereo with NAD T750?

r3dline
03-07-2004, 10:31 PM
I just picked up an NAD T750 surround receiver off eBay that supports the old Dolby Pro Logic. It's just a simple stereo settup, so I'm not worried about Dolby Digital. But I have a few questions:

Will I be able to watch movies that are decoded in dolby digital, using this receiver?

Also (my main question) can I listen to music on the three front channels?

Sorry, I'm a newb when it comes to surround sound.

r3dline
03-23-2004, 10:57 PM
Well I answered those myself. Three channel stereo sounds horrible. LoL

Anyway. Can anyone explain to me the big audible difference between Dolby Digital and Dolby Pro Logic?

markw
03-24-2004, 12:48 AM
Dolby Pro Logic is an analog based system which works off of two (right and left) analog channels. It then "derives" two other channels (Center, mono surround) from these two, much like the old four channel stereos from the 70's did. In fact, DPL is a direct descendent of Columbia's SQ four channel matrix system from those days.

Please note that mono surround... Even though you might have two separate amplifier channels driving two speakers, the signal fed to these is the same. The audio range of the surround channel is not quite hi fi, being more in like with a good AM radio, but for the effects needed to enhance movie watching, it does quite a deent job.

This is the only type of surround you can use with VHS tapes and can provide a much better experience than one might imagine form the meager specs mentioned in the previous paragraph. Try "Iron Giant" for a good demo (and a fun movie)